Penn Calendar Penn A-Z School of Arts and Sciences University of Pennsylvania

Videos Now Available: May 10 "Democracy, Citizenship and Constitutionalism Conference" Panels

Wednesday, June 1, 2022 - 3:45pm

View the videos here.

In an academic career that has spanned decades, ROGERS M. SMITH has made important contributions to the way that political scientists and others have thought about the workings of democracy, the definition and control of citizenship, and the creation and impact of constitutions. In honor of his far-ranging influence, please join us for a one-day online conference exploring the topics central to his scholarship and featuring leading thinkers in their fields.

Panel 1: JUDICIAL DECISION-MAKING IN AMERICAN CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT, featuring JULIE NOVKOV (Professor of Political Science and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, SUNY-Albany), MARK GRABER (Regents Professor, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law), and KEITH WHITTINGTON (William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Politics, Princeton University).

Panel 2: RACIAL IDENTITIES AND INEQUALITIES: COMPETING PARADIGMS, featuring CATHY COHEN (David and Mary Winton Green Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science, University of Chicago), DESMOND KING (Andrew W Mellon professor of American Government at Nuffield College, University of Oxford), and ADOLPH REED (Professor Emeritus of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania).

Panel 3: THE CONSTRUCTION OF NATIONAL CITIZENSHIPS, featuring MERAL UGUR CINAR(Assistant Professor of Political Science, Bilkent University), HARRIS MYLONAS (Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs, Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University), and SARAH SONG (Professor of Law, Political Science, and Philosophy, UC Berkeley).

Panel 4: COMPETING VISIONS OF THE CONSTRUCTION OF DESIRABLE POLITICAL IDENTITIES AND THE ROLE OF POLITICAL SCIENCE, featuring DAVID BATEMAN (Associate Professor of Government, Cornell University), ROBERT LIEBERMAN (Krieger-Eisenhower Professor of Political Science, Johns Hopkins University), and AMY CABRERA RASMUSSEN (Chair, Department of Political Science, California State University Long Beach).